Skip to content

15 sports figure as finalists in 2016 AIS Sport Performance Awards

16 November 2016

Athletes and teams from 15 sports have been selected as finalists for the 2016 AIS Sport Performance awards, with winners to be announced at a gala dinner at The Star, Sydney, on 14 December.

Acting Australian Sports Commission CEO Matt Favier said: ‘It’s fantastic to see the variety of sports and athletes represented as finalists in the AIS Sport Performance Awards and it’s reflective of the widespread talent and opportunity in Australian sport.

‘You only need to look at the rugby union finalists to see a great example of opportunity in Australian sport. The Australian Women’s Rugby Sevens team made history in Rio by claiming the first Olympic gold medal in their sport, while our Australian Men’s Wheelchair Rugby team – the Steelers – defended their Paralympic gold medal in Rio in thrilling fashion.

‘The AIS Sport Performance Awards is an opportunity for the Australian sport sector to come together and celebrate remarkable achievements.’ 

In addition to awards determined by an AIS judging panel, sport fans also have the chance to vote for two awards – The ABC Sports Personality of the Year and Public Choice Team of the Year. The AIS, with the support of ABC Grandstand, has launched an online platform at and are taking votes now.

2016 ASPAs finalists 

Dylan Alcott (Wheelchair Tennis) Tom Burton (Sailing) Kyle Chalmers (Swimming) Mack Horton (Swimming)
Female Athlete of the Year
  • Kim Brennan (Rowing)
  • Chloe Esposito (Modern Pentathlon)
  • Catherine Skinner (Shooting)
  • Tyler Wright (Surfing)
Para Performance of the Year
  • Dylan Alcott (Wheelchair Tennis)
  • Australian Steelers (Wheelchair Rugby)
  • Maddison Elliott (Swimming)
  • Curtis McGrath (Canoe)
Emerging Athlete
  • Curtis Luck (Golf)
  • Ezi Magbegor (Basketball)
  • Jessica Thornton (Athletics)
  • Sam Welsford (Cycling)
Coach of the Year
  • Luke Beveridge (Australian Rules Football)
  • Michael Blackburn (Sailing)
  • Brad Dubberley (Wheelchair Rugby)
  • Tim Walsh (Rugby Sevens)
International Team of the Year
  • Australian Steelers (Wheelchair Rugby)
  • Men’s Team Pursuit (Cycling)
  • Women’s Rugby Sevens (Rugby Sevens)
  • Women’s 4x100m relay (Swimming)
  • Matt Allan, Matt Carroll (Sailing)
  • David Gallop (Football)
  • Dr David Hughes (AIS/AOC)
  • Kate McLoughlin (APC)
Return to top