Skip to content

Diamonds shine twice at sport awards night

24 February 2016

The Australian Diamonds shone brightly in the 2015 AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs) at a gala awards night at The Star, Sydney taking out both the joint Team of the Year (judged) and the Destination NSW Team of the Year (Public vote).

The Diamonds shared the joint Team of the Year title with the women’s cycling pursuit team and came out clear winners in the public vote.

The awards reflect the esteem Australia’s all conquering netball team is held in by both the sporting sector and Australian public.

In 2015 the Diamonds successfully defended the Netball World Cup when they defeated arch-rival New Zealand 58–55 on home soil. This performance clinched Australia’s third successive world title and its 11th Netball World Cup.

The Diamonds capped off the year by retaining the Constellation Cup: while drawing the series 2–all with New Zealand, Australia won the Cup on goal difference.

Netball was well represented in other awards with Lisa Alexander (Coach of the Year) Laura Geitz (Sports Personality of the Year) and the Diamonds (Best Sporting Moment) being shortlisted as finalists.

About 300 of Australia’s sporting personalities gathered for the second annual ASPAs.

AIS Sport Performance Awards winners

• David Pocock (ABC Sports Personality of the Year) – Public vote
• Australian Diamonds (Destination NSW Team of the Year) – Public vote
• Jason Day (2XU Male Athlete of the Year)
• Emily Seebohm (Berlei Female Athlete of the Year)
• Australian Diamonds, Women’s Team Pursuit, cycling (Gatorade Team of the Year)
• Michelle Payne (Lion, The Complete Dairy Sporting Moment of the Year) – Media vote
• Ben Simmons (Nestle Emerging Athlete of the Year)
• Alistair Donohoe (Dairy Australia Para Performance of the Year)
• Michael Bohl (Melbourne Business School Coach of the Year)
• Mark Anderson (Melbourne Business School Award for Leadership) 


Return to top