Skip to content

Finalists announced for 2021 Sport Australia Media Awards

15 December 2021

Finalists for the 2021 Sport Australia Media Awards have been announced.

The Sport Australia Media Awards have been running since 2002 and recognise excellence in Australian sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography. They are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia.

Sport Australia Acting CEO Rob Dalton said: “It was fantastic to once again see the awards attract such high-quality entries, particularly as we enter our 20th year.

“Australian sports media play an important role in sharing inspiring, insightful and sometimes heartbreaking sport stories. It has been another challenging year for all and so we are proud to provide this opportunity to thank and highlight the world-class coverage and incredible depth of talent within our sports media industry.”

More than 300 entries were received across the 12 award categories with the highly competitive Best sport profile – written and Best sports photography category receiving the most entries.

Finalists will be invited to an awards presentation in Sydney on 2 March 2022, pending COVID travel restrictions. Sport Australia will also announce a new recipient of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement award – last year awarded to ABC commentator Jim Maxwell AM.

Congratulations to the 2021 finalists.

2021 finalists

* links may be to a sample of the work and not necessarily the complete entry

Best sport profile – broadcast

Innovation in sports media

  • Making the Call, Emma Race, Lucy Race
  • Fox Cricket Saves the Day (And Series), Australia v India 4th Test, Fox Sports
  • Live VR Aerial Analysis, Stan Sport / Channel Nine
  • Social Media Innovation, UEFA EURO 2020, Optus Sport

Best coverage of sport for people with disability

Best depiction of inclusive sport

Best coverage of a community sport issue – rural & regional media

Best sports photography

Best reporting of an issue in sport

Best sport coverage by an individual – video

  • Matt Carmichael, Seven Network
  • Brenton Speed, Fox Sports and Seven Network
  • David Culbert, Seven Network
  • Bruce McAvaney, Seven Network

Best sport coverage by an individual – written

  • Emma Kemp, Guardian Australia
  • Julian Linden, The Daily Telegraph
  • Phil Lutton, The Sydney Morning Herald
  • Jonathan Howcroft, Guardian Australia
  • Will Swanton, The Australian

Best sport coverage by an individual – audio

Best coverage of a sporting event

  • Seven Network, ‘Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games’
  • Optus Sport, ‘UEFA EURO 2020’
  • Network 10, ‘Melbourne Cup Carnival 2020’
  • The Age / The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games’

Best sport profile – written

For more information on the awards and categories, visit our Media Awards page, or see a list of previous winners.

The Sport Australia Media Awards trophies
Return to top