Skip to content
Media Centre

Media Awards 2018

Finalists have been announced for the 2018 Sport Australia Media Awards. Read the full list here.

The Sport Australia Media Awards recognise excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting and production. They focus on analytical and insightful reporting and the presentation of sport and sporting issues, with the ultimate aim of fostering improved coverage of key issues within sport. The qualifying period for all nominations is between 28 October 2017 and 19 October 2018.

The media awards are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia. There are multiple categories that enable different media to compete on relative merits.

As well as recognising excellence, the awards provide media representatives with the opportunity to network with peers and key representatives of the sports industry.

For more information contact

Key dates

  • Entry qualifying period: From 28 October 2017 to 19 October 2018
  • Nominations open: Monday 10 September 2018
  • Nominations close: Monday 22 October 2018
  • Finalists notified: Early December 2018
  • Awards presented: Thursday 7 February 2019



Finalists have been announced. Finalists living outside of Melbourne will be provided with travel and accommodation to attend the presentation gala dinner.

Presentation gala dinner

The Sport Australia Media Awards presentation gala dinner will be held at Peninsula, Docklands, Melbourne, on Thursday 7 February 2018. Guests will include: media award finalists; the Sport Australia Board, executive and representatives; sport chief executive officers and other representatives of national sporting organisations; and representatives of the sports media industry.

Tickets for the awards may be purchased by emailing

Lifetime achievement award for sports journalism

This is awarded to an individual who has made a lengthy, significant and influential contribution to the reporting of Australian sport. Nominations are made by a Sport Australia-appointed judging panel, with the award determined by the Sport Australia Board.

Return to top