Skip to content

AFL named 'organisation of the year' at LGBTI inclusion awards

19 May 2017

The Australian Football League has been named the inaugural winner of the Pride in Sport Index Organisation of the Year Award at the ACON 2017 Australian LGBTI Inclusion Awards.

Australian Sports Commission CEO Kate Palmer said the Pride in Sport Index, a joint initiative with the Australian Human Rights Commission and the Bingham Cup, was a world-first national benchmarking instrument designed to assess lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex people (LGBTI) inclusivity in Australian sport.

“As Australia’s leading sport agency, we believe discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation can have a significant impact on people’s sporting experience as it violates their right to be treated with respect, dignity and fairness,” Palmer said.

“Sport provides people with a sense of enjoyment, relaxation and health as well as numerous social benefits. At its best, it also promotes fairness, equity and good sporting behaviour.

“The Index helps sporting organisations to review their practices and policies and demonstrates excellence in the promotion of LGBTI inclusion.

“I congratulate the AFL as the inaugural winner and all of the sport award recipients. The support and initiatives shared through the awards is great testimony to the work sport is doing and can lead for the inclusion of LGBTI players, staff, spectators and supporters,” Palmer said.

Award winners in the sport category included:

  • Australian Football League – Pride in Sport Index Organisation of the Year
  • St Kilda Football Club – Inclusive Club
  • Water Polo Pride Cup – Inclusive Sports Initiative
  • Brumbies Vice-Captain David Pocock – LGBTI Ally (Sport)
  • Jason Ball, Yarra Glen Football Club – Out Role Model (Sport)
  • Mel Rippon, Brisbane Tritons Water Polo – Inclusive Coach (Sport)
  • Damien Hicks, Brisbane Barracudas – Inclusive Coach (Sport).






Return to top