Skip to content

AIS alumni receive top honours at SAHOF awards

04 December 2020

The Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) congratulates five former AIS scholarships holders recognised among Australian sport’s most iconic names as part of the 2020 Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) induction ceremony.

Australian rugby great and former AIS athlete John Eales was elevated to Legend status, joining an honour roll that includes Sir Donald Bradman, Dawn Fraser, Herb Elliott, Cathy Freeman, Rod Laver, Raelene Boyle, Dennis Lillee and Susie O’Neill.

AIS alumni Cadel Evans AM (cycling), Bridgette Gusterson OAM (Water Polo), Lauren Jackson AO (Basketball) and Matthew Mitcham (Diving) were all inducted as athlete members, recognising the significant contributions made to their respective sports.

Legend of Australian Sport | John Eales (Rugby) | AIS scholarship - November 1989 - September 1991

Eales received the accolade of becoming the 42nd member of the SAHOF legends club for his enormous contribution to Australian Rugby. Widely regarded as one of the greatest rugby players to represent his country, Eales hung up his boots as the second most capped Wallabies player in history with 86 Test appearances, 55 of those as captain. Read full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Cadel Evans (Cycling) | AIS scholarship - June 1995 - October 2000

Evans cemented his place as one of the all-time greats of Australian road cycling following his historic 2011 Tour de France win. In doing so, Evans became the first Australian to conquer one of the world’s biggest races after two previous second place finishes, among his many appearances in the Tour. Having started in mountain biking, where he was offered a scholarship at the AIS, Evans also became the 2009 world champion in road cycling. Read full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Bridgette Gusterson (Water Polo) | AIS scholarship holder - July 1993 - December 2000

Gusterson had an outstanding water polo career, highlighted by captaining Australia to the first Women’s Water Polo gold medal at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games. Read full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Lauren Jackson (Basketball) | AIS scholarship holder - January 1997 - June 1999

Jackson is widely regarded as one of Australia’s all-time great basketballers. Jackson is a four-time Olympian, having claimed three silver and one bronze medal. Her success carried into World Championships where she led Australia to gold in 2006 after successive bronze medals in 2002 and 1998. Read full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Matthew Mitcham (Diving) | AIS scholarship holder - March 2003 - November 2006

Mitcham rewrote the history books when, in an astonishing last-gasp performance under extreme pressure, he became the first Australian male diver in 84 years to win an Olympic gold medal at the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, becoming just the second-ever Australian do so. Mitcham is also a Commonwealth Games gold medallist and six-time silver medallist, across both the platform and springboard disciplines. Read full bio

The AIS also congratulates the Australian Women’s T20 Cricket Team on receiving ‘The Don Award’ for inspiring the nation during their historic T20 World Cup win in front of 86,174 fans at the MCG,  and Hall of Fame inductees David Foster and Michelle den Dekker. Congratulations also goes to Jill McIntosh who became a General Member of the Hall of Fame.

Return to top