Skip to content

AIS invites public to pick their sporting best and fairest

10 November 2016

Sports fans have the chance to vote for their favourite sporting personalities and teams of 2016 as part of the annual AIS Sport Performance Awards.

The AIS, with the support of ABC Grandstand, has launched a public voting platform at and are taking votes now.

The ABC Sports Personality of the Year and public choice Team of the Year will be among the awards announced at a gala ceremony at The Star, Sydney, on Wednesday, December 14.

The AIS Sport Performance Awards celebrate the nation’s sporting achievements, with awards for: male and female athlete of the year; Para-performance; emerging athlete; international team; coach; and leader.

Acting Australian Sports Commission CEO Matt Favier urged fans to get behind their favourite athlete, teams and sports.

“The ABC Personality of the Year is about acknowledging the athletes who have not only excelled in the sporting arena in 2016, but have connected with the public and have been great ambassadors for their sports,” Favier said.

“We’ve seen some outstanding performance in Australia and abroad, including Olympic and Paralympic gold medals, world records, world titles and inspiring premiership wins.

“There are 16 athletes and 10 teams from 17 different sports to choose from, so this public vote is a fun way for fans to have their say in their best and fairest for 2016.

“It’s wonderful to again have the support of ABC Grandstand who are able to bring these sporting achievements to life for Australians through their broadcasting and reporting on television, radio and online.”

Online voting is open until 5pm AEDT, Sunday, December 11.

ABC Sports Personality of the Year nominees: Dylan Alcott (Wheelchair Tennis), Caitlin Bassett (Netball), Kim Brennan (Rowing), Charlotte Caslick (Rugby Sevens), Kyle Chalmers (Swimming), Patrick Dangerfield (Australian Rules), Jason Day (Golf), Chloe Esposito (Modern Pentathlon), Mack Horton (Swimming), Curtis McGrath (Para-Canoe), Anna Meares (Cycling), Patty Mills (Basketball), Cameron Smith (Rugby League), Jared Tallent (Athletics), Daniel Ricciardo (Motor Racing), Tyler Wright (Surfing).

Public Choice Team of the Year nominees: Adelaide United (Football), Australian Boomers (Basketball), Australian Matildas (Football), Australian Steelers (Wheelchair Rugby), Australian Women’s Rugby Sevens (Rugby Sevens), Australia’s 4x100m relay (Swimming), Cronulla Sharks (Rugby League), Orica-BikeExhange (Cycling), Queensland Firebirds (Netball), Western Bulldogs (Australian Rules)

Return to top