Skip to content

Cyclists ride success at the ASPAS

24 February 2016

The Australian women’s cycling pursuit team have been named joint winners of the 2015 AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs) Team of the Year at a gala awards night at the Star in Sydney.

The world champions shared the honour with the Aussie Diamonds Netball team.

Squad members Annette Edmondson, Ashlee Ankudinoff, Amy Cure and Melissa Hoskins beat the world record by 2.9 seconds at the Paris 2015 Track World Championships in February.

The team has been together since 2011 and after increasing the squad’s support network in the past 12 months it has lifted to another level.

Part of the team’s success has come from the members’ commitment to base themselves at Cycling Australia’s high performance unit in Adelaide one year out from the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

It was a big night for cycling with Alistair Donohoe winning the Para–Performance of the Year, Annette Edmondson and Rohan Dennis were finalists in the Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Caleb Ewan was a finalist in Emerging Athlete of the Year, while cycling legend Anna Meares was a finalist in both the ABC Sport Personality of the Year and Best Sporting Moment of the Year awards.

About 300 of Australia’s sporting personalities gathered for the second annual ASPAs.

 AIS Sport Performance Awards winners

• David Pocock (ABC Sports Personality of the Year) – Public vote
• Australian Diamonds (Destination NSW Team of the Year) – Public vote
• Jason Day (2XU Male Athlete of the Year)
• Emily Seebohm (Berlei Female Athlete of the Year)
• Australian Diamonds, Women’s Team Pursuit, cycling (Gatorade Team of the Year)
• Michelle Payne (Lion, The Complete Dairy Sporting Moment of the Year) – Media vote
• Ben Simmons (Nestle Emerging Athlete of the Year)
• Alistair Donohoe (Dairy Australia Para Performance of the Year)
• Michael Bohl (Melbourne Business School Coach of the Year)
• Mark Anderson (Melbourne Business School Award for Leadership) 

Return to top