Skip to content

Donohoe takes out Para-Performance of the Year

24 February 2016

Para-cyclist Alistair Donohoe has been awarded the 2015 AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs) Para Performance of the Year at a gala awards night at Star City in Sydney.

Donohoe who is only 20 years old shone through in a highly competitive field that included wheelchair racer Angie Ballard, swimmer Ellie Cole and rowing pair Kathryn Ross and Gavin Bellis.

Throughout 2015 Donohoe not only excelled in the most competitive classification within para-cycling, C5, he also greatly contributed to the positive team culture.

His 2015 highlights include first place at the Para-cycling Road Worlds Road Race and in six separate Para-cycling Road World Cup gold medals.

He also won the scratch race at the Para-cycling Track World championships, and three gold medals at national track and road events during the year.

Ellie Cole was also a finalist in the ABC Sports Personality of the Year while para-athlete Isis Holt was a finalist in the Emerging Athlete of the Year. 

About 300 of Australia’s sporting personalities gathered for the second annual ASPAs.

AIS Sport Performance Awards winners

• David Pocock (ABC Sports Personality of the Year) – Public vote
• Australian Diamonds (Destination NSW Team of the Year) – Public vote
• Jason Day (2XU Male Athlete of the Year)
• Emily Seebohm (Berlei Female Athlete of the Year)
• Australian Diamonds, Women’s Team Pursuit, cycling (Gatorade Team of the Year)
• Michelle Payne (Lion, The Complete Dairy Sporting Moment of the Year) – Media vote
• Ben Simmons (Nestle Emerging Athlete of the Year)
• Alistair Donohoe (Dairy Australia Para Performance of the Year)
• Michael Bohl (Melbourne Business School Coach of the Year)
• Mark Anderson (Melbourne Business School Award for Leadership) 



Return to top