Skip to content

Finalists announced for 2019 Sport Australia Media Awards

03 December 2019

Sport Australia congratulates the following finalists for the prestigious Sport Australia Media Awards, with winners to be announced at a gala ceremony in Sydney early next year.

There was strong contention for places among the finalists this year, Sport Australia receiving more than 350 entries.

The Sport Australia Media Awards (#SportAUSMediaAwards) have been running since 2002 and are Australia’s only awards dedicated to recognising excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography.

Finalists will be invited to a gala dinner in Sydney on Thursday, 13 February, 2020. The ceremony will also honour a new recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for sports journalism, last awarded to Dennis Cometti AM.

Best reporting of an issue in sport

  • Shark Island Productions, ‘The Final Quarter’
  • Jamie Pandaram, ‘Israel's holy war’, News Corp Australia
  • Phil Lutton, Damian Ryan, ‘The Shayna Jack Doping Case’, Nine-Fairfax
  • Triple M, ‘Concussion in the AFL - Paddy McCartin's story’
  • Michael Carayannis, ‘The best there never was’, Daily Telegraph
  • Samantha Lane, ‘Adam Goodes: My love for the game died inside me’, The Sydney Morning Herald & The Age

Best sport coverage by an individual – broadcast

  • Brenton Speed, Fox Sports Australia
  • Corbin Middlemas, ABC
  • Gerard Whateley, SEN Radio and Fox Footy
  • Tracey Holmes, ABC

Best sport coverage by an individual – written

  • Jessica Halloran, News Corp Australia
  • Konrad Marshall, Good Weekend
  • Mark Robinson, The Herald Sun
  • Phil Lutton, The Sydney Morning Herald
  • Will Swanton, The Australian

Best sport coverage by an individual – digital

  • Mary Konstantopoulos, Ladies Who League
  • Samuel Ferris, Cricket Australia
  • David Weiner, Optus Sport
  • Jamie van Leeuwen, ESPN

Best coverage of a sporting event

  • ABC, ‘Invictus Games Sydney 2018’
  • Seven Network, ‘Cox Plate 2018’
  • Optus Sport, ‘FIFA Women's World Cup 2019’
  • The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘The Ashes’

Best sport profile – broadcast

  • Evan George and Jon Bullock, ‘Top Tier Towns’, Optus Sport
  • Josh Cable, Marcus Cobbledick, ‘Collingwood: From the Inside Out’, Good Thing Productions
  • Michael Chammas, ‘Benji Marshall: A long walk to 300 NRL games’,
  • On The Mark, ‘Travis Varcoe’, Fox Footy

Best sport profile – written

  • Martin Smith, ‘Rebuilding Burt: How cricket changed a life’,
  • Nick Walshaw, ‘Braidon Burns’, Daily Telegraph
  • Peter Badel, ‘Broncos at War’, The Courier Mail
  • Samantha Lane, ‘Adam Goodes’, The Sydney Morning Herald & The Age
  • Will Swanton, ‘Steph Gilmore’, The Australian

Best coverage of sport for people with disability

  • ABC, ‘Invictus Games Sydney 2018’
  • Amanda Smith, ‘Blind Tennis’, Sporty ABC Radio National
  • Catherine Marciniak, ‘Leagueability’, ABC
  • Matthew Carmichael, Seven Network

Best regional, rural and suburban sport coverage

  • Anthony Pancia, ‘Coverage of the 2019 Margaret River Pro’, ABC
  • Jennifer Browning, Jessie Davies ‘Saving the Coonamble Golf Club’, ABC Western Plains
  • Michael Parris, ‘A male-only tennis club meets its match’, Newcastle Herald
  • Stuart Walmsley,

Best sports photography

  • Darren England, ‘Kurtis Patterson classic catch’, Australian Associated Press
  • Michael Willson, ‘The Kick’, AFL Photos
  • Hamish Blair, ‘Emerging from the shadows’, Australian Associated Press
  • Quinn Rooney, ‘Water Drops’, Getty Images

Best depiction of inclusive sport

  • Joanna Lester, ‘Power Meri’, Media Stockade
  • Reece Homfray, ‘The beating heart of Australian Rules’, The Advertiser
  • Robert Drane, ‘African appearance’, NEXT Media
  • The Outer Sanctum, ABC

Best contribution to sport via digital media

  • Wide World of Sports, ‘The home of rugby league’, Nine Network
  • The Age & The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘Sport explainers - deep dives into sport's mysteries'
  • The Herald Sun, ‘Sacked’

Best analysis of sport business

  • Niall Seewang, ‘Inside Tasmania's push for an AFL team’, ESPN
  • John Stensholt, The Australian
  • Tracey Holmes, ‘The Global Swimming Wars’, The Ticket ABC
  • The Business of Sport, Sky News

Previous winners of the Sport Australia Media Awards can be found here.

Sport Australia Media Awards trophies
Return to top