Skip to content

Finalists announced for Sport Australia Media Awards

03 December 2018

Sport Australia announces and congratulates the following finalists for the prestigious Sport Australia Media Awards, with winners to be announced at a gala ceremony in Melbourne early next year.

The Sport Australia Media Awards (#SportAUSMediaAwards) have been running since 2002 and are Australia’s only awards dedicated to recognising excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography.

Finalists will be invited to a gala dinner in Melbourne on Thursday, 7 February, 2019. The ceremony will also honour a new recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for sports journalism, last awarded to Debbie Spillane.

Best reporting of an issue in sport

  • Neil Breen, ‘One night in New York’, Nine News
  • Leo Schlink, ‘The big fix’, The Herald Sun
  • Nick Tabakoff, ‘The price of sporting glory’, The Australian
  • Chris Barrett, ‘Sandpaper, lies and videotape’, The Sydney Morning Herald

Best individual sport coverage – broadcast

  • Alister Nicholson, ABC
  • Kelli Underwood, Fox Sports and ABC
  • Bruce McAvaney, Seven Network
  • Gerard Whateley, SEN Radio and Fox Footy
  • Lucy Zelic, SBS

Best individual sport coverage – print

  • Michael Gleeson, The Age
  • Will Swanton, The Australian
  • Andrew Webster, The Sydney Morning Herald
  • Konrad Marshall, Good Weekend, Fairfax Media

Best individual sport coverage – digital

  • Mary Konstantopoulos, Ladies Who League
  • Michael Chammas,
  • Jacob Kuriype, Fox Sports
  • Mark Howard, ‘The Howie Games’, Podcast One Australia

Best coverage of a sporting event

  • The Sunday Age, ‘AFL Grand Final 2018’
  • Seven Network, ‘Commonwealth Games 2018’
  • Podcast One Australia, Triple M, ‘The Moment, The Fight’
  • Seven Network, ‘Winter Olympics 2018’
  • SBS, ‘2018 FIFA World Cup’

Best sports photography

  • Scott Barbour, ‘Lightning Strikes’, Getty Images
  • Quinn Rooney, ‘Ski Cross’, Getty Images
  • Ryan Pierse, ‘Cop it on the chin’, Getty Images
  • Michael Dodge, ‘Stop the Pigeon’, Getty Images

Best sport profile – print

  • Adam Burnett, ‘Chris Lynn’s summer of living dangerously’,
  • Brendan Bradford, ‘The Luke Jackson story’, Perform Group/Sporting News Australia
  • Will Swanton, ‘Is this bloke a thug?’, The Australian
  • Michael Chammas, ‘James Roberts’ amazing transformation’,
  • Konrad Marshall, ‘Second serve: The stunning rise of Ash Barty’, Fairfax Media

Best depiction of inclusive sport

  • Emma Race, ‘The Outer Sanctum Podcast’, ABC Radio
  • Lauren Day, ‘Inner Demons – sacrificing it all for the AFLW’, ABC 7.30
  • Jennifer Browning, ‘Bush Footy’, ABC News
  • Matt Weiss, Tim Sheridan, Paul O’Doherty, ‘Game of Life’, Fox Sports

Best coverage of sport for people with disability

  • Adam Burnett, ‘Cricket, chaos and a beautiful mind’,
  • Denise Reardon, Paul Gow, ‘Soldier On’, The Golf Show, Fox Sports
  • Lauren Day, ‘Dylan Alcott out to make disability sexy’, ABC 7.30
  • Matthew Carmichael, Seven Network

Best regional, rural and suburban sport coverage

  • Mackenzie Colahan, ‘Decline of Rugby League in Outback Queensland’, Central and North Burnett Times
  • James Gardiner, ‘Offside: How a football fantasy turned to nightmare’, Newcastle Herald
  • Callum Dick, ‘Ipswich Jets’, The Queensland Times
  • ABC Heywire (Darliah Killer, Kudamba Abaas, Jarrod Darlow, Emma Murray), ‘What regional sport means to young people’, ABC Radio, TV and Online

Best contribution to sport via digital media

  • Surfing Australia, ‘’
  • Patrick Galloway, ABC News, ‘Dani Stevens – The Science behind the perfect discus throw’
  •, ‘The Women’s Game’
  • PlayersVoice, ‘PlayersVoice is Changing The Game’
  • Fox Sports, ‘The Magic of the Cup: The FFA Cup’

Best sport profile – broadcast

  • Ben Waterworth, Denise Reardon, Dave Haworth, ‘Lauren Jackson – In her Element’, Fox Sports
  • Bob Murphy, Mike Hirchfield, 'Nat Fyfe’, Fox Footy
  • Andy Maher, ‘Jarrod Lyle’, SEN Afternoons
  • Nick Piper, ‘The Season 1 – Nudgee College’, Onion TV

Best analysis of sport business

  • Jeff Centenera, ‘Cohesion analytics and the next wave in sports stats’, Inside Sport
  • John Stensholt, Max Mason, ‘Cricket broadcast rights’, The Australian Financial Review
  • Ashley Browne, ‘AFL Movers and Shapers’, AFL Record and
  • Jack Kerr, ‘Investigations and Analysis’, Freelance
Winners from the 2017 Media Awards
Winners at the 2017 Media Awards
Return to top