Skip to content

Rebecca Wilson honoured with ASC Lifetime Achievement Award for media

16 February 2017

Australian Sports Commission Chair John Wylie has paid tribute to renowned sports journalist Rebecca Wilson, who posthumously received the Australian Sports Commission’s (ASC) Lifetime Achievement Award in Melbourne tonight.

Wylie said Rebecca was a pioneer for female sports journalists and broadcasters, during a career spanning more than three decades.

“There are many quality female journalists covering Australian sport but it is because of trailblazers like Rebecca Wilson that sports journalism in this country is a profession offering great opportunity for women and is judged on merit, not gender,” Wylie said.

“What stood Rebecca apart was her immense courage. She said what she believed, challenged power, questioned party lines, stood on toes, and generally had a go, without fear of consequence.

“This award is a celebration of the valuable contribution Rebecca made to the Australian sports media.”

Rebecca Wilson began as a cadet at Brisbane’s Courier-Mail in 1980, and over the next 36 years established herself as one of the most powerful and influential voices in Australian sports media working across all traditional mediums – print, television and radio.

She worked with Channel Ten, Channel Seven, Foxtel, the Daily and Sunday Telegraph. She was a regular on Sky Sports and 2GB with Alan Jones. She was a breakfast radio broadcaster with Vega.

Rebecca, who passed away in October last year, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award during a gala dinner attended by almost 200 guests and media from across the country.

The ceremony was attended by Rebecca’s husband John Hartigan, sons Tom and Will Sacre and Rebecca’s mother, Maryloo Wilson.

Federal Minister for Sport Greg Hunt also praised Rebecca for the important role she played in her ground-breaking career.

“Her passionate, unrelenting and significant role in the Australian sports media is missed, but not forgotten,” Minister Hunt said.

“For 15 years the ASC Media Awards have honoured the best and brightest sports journalists, broadcasters and photographers and Rebecca’s legacy to the industry remains.”

Winners of the 2016 ASC Media Awards

Congratulations to all the winners announced tonight at the 2016 ASC Media Awards presentation gala dinner in Melbourne.Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism: Rebecca WilsonBest reporting of an issue in sport: Gotcha: The Parramatta Eels Salary Cap Scandal; Nick Tabakoff, Daily TelegraphBest coverage of sport by an individual – broadcast: Bruce McAvaney, Seven NetworkBest coverage of sport by an individual – print media: Will Swanton, The AustralianBest coverage of sport by an individual – digital media: Investigations, features and analysis; Jack Kerr, freelancerBest coverage of a sporting event by a media organization: 2015-16 Big Bash League, Network TenBest coverage of sport for people with disability: Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, Seven NetworkBest coverage of women in sport: 2015-16 Women’s Big Bash League, Network TenBest profiling of an athlete, team or coach – broadcast media: “True Grit” – David Pocock; Winsome Denyer, Tim Wilson and Marc Smith, Australian Story, ABCBest profiling of an athlete, team or coach – print media: ‘Jarryd Hayne’; Will Swanton, The AustralianBest sports journalism from rural, regional or suburban media: Dreams and Knightmares; Robert Dillon, Newcastle HeraldBest sports photography: Say Cheese; Cameron Spencer, Getty ImagesBest depiction of the value of sport to Australians in a community setting: From Little Things; Tim Sheridan, Matt Weiss, Fox FootyBest contribution to sport by an organisation through digital media: Olympics on 7, Seven NetworkBest analysis of the business of sport: The 0.1 percenters; Jeff Centenera, Inside Sport
Return to top