Skip to content

Seebohm our Female Athlete of the Year

24 February 2016

Australian swimming sensation Emily Seebohm has struck gold again by being named the 2015 AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs) Female Athlete of the Year at a gala awards night at The Star in Sydney.

Seebohm had a memorable year dominating at the 2015 FINA World Swimming Championships, winning gold in the 100-metre backstroke, 200-metre backstroke and the 4 x 100-metre freestyle relay.

She broke the Commonwealth 200-metre backstroke record and became the first Australian to win the 100-metre/200-metre backstroke double at the world championships.

Seebohm said she was honoured to receive the award.

“Australian swimming had a fantastic year in the pool in 2015 and I was so happy with what I achieved.”

Swimming confirmed their standing in Australian sport by winning two other awards including Michael Bohl (Coach of the Year) while Swimming Australia CEO Mark Anderson was presented with the 2015 ASPAs Leadership Award.

Bohl coached six Australian athletes for the 2015 FINA World Championships who went on to win five gold, two silver and three bronze medals at the meet, including Mitchell Larkin, Madison Wilson, Bronte Barratt, Madeline Grove, Emma McKeon and Grant Irvine.

He also coached Larkin to a world record in the 200m backstroke at the 2015 Australian Short Course Championships.

Mark Anderson commenced at Swimming Australia in 2013 as part of leadership structure changes following the London 2012 Olympic Games.

He brought highly valued management and business acumen to swimming that has seen the sport attract and secure new commercial and innovative partnerships, highlighted by a renewed multi-year TV broadcast arrangement involving free-to-air television and digital platforms.

About 300 of Australia’s sporting personalities gathered for the second annual ASPAs.

AIS Sport Performance Awards winners

• David Pocock (ABC Sports Personality of the Year) – Public vote
• Australian Diamonds (Destination NSW Team of the Year) – Public vote
• Jason Day (2XU Male Athlete of the Year)
• Emily Seebohm (Berlei Female Athlete of the Year)
• Australian Diamonds, Women’s Team Pursuit, cycling (Gatorade Team of the Year)
• Michelle Payne (Lion, The Complete Dairy Sporting Moment of the Year) – Media vote
• Ben Simmons (Nestle Emerging Athlete of the Year)
• Alistair Donohoe (Dairy Australia Para Performance of the Year)
• Michael Bohl (Melbourne Business School Coach of the Year)
• Mark Anderson (Melbourne Business School Award for Leadership) 



Return to top