ASC Media Awards

The 14th Annual ASC Media Awards were held in Melbourne on 26 November 2015, recognising excellence in sports journalism and broadcasting and the role of the media in connecting Australians with sport. Attended by the Minister for Health and Aged Care, Minister for Sport, the Honourable Sussan Ley MP, 15 awards were presented including the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Table 3: ASC Media Awards results
Award 2015 Winner
Best contribution to sport by an organisation through digital media 2015 Ashes Test series —
Best coverage of sport for people with disability Amanda Shalala, Grandstand para-sport profiles — ABC
Best coverage of women in sport The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup — SBS
Best depiction of the value of sport to Australians in a community setting Dan Goldberg, Adam Kay and Anthony De Sylva, ‘Pitch Battle’ — Mint Pictures and ABC
Best sports photography Brett Costello, ‘Shark splash’ — Daily Telegraph
Best sports journalism from rural, regional or suburban media Matthew McInerney — APN Fraser Coast Chronicle
Best analysis of the business of sport Simon King, ‘Charting a bold course’ — The Australian’s Deal Magazine
Best coverage of a sporting event by a media organisation The 2014 AFL grand final — The Age
Best profiling of an athlete, team or coach — print media Robert Drane, ‘The blame game’ — Inside Sport
Best profiling of an athlete, team or coach — broadcast media Brad Smith, Mike Hirchfield and Mick Neill, ‘Dan Menzel — a long way home’ — Fox Footy
Best coverage of sport by an individual — digital media David Weiner — Fox Sports
Best coverage of sport by an individual — print media Will Swanton — The Australian
Best coverage of sport by an individual — broadcast media Gerard Whateley — ABC, Fox Footy
Best reporting of an issue in sport Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Sam Clark and Max Murch, ‘Making a killing’ — Four Corners, ABC TV
Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism Mike Coward