The Australian Sports Commission is the Australian Government agency that develops, supports and invests in sport at all levels. It was established in 1985 and operates under the Australian Sports Commission Act 1989. The Commission’s national leadership role is achieved through three operational divisions: the Australian Institute of Sport, Participation and Sustainable Sports, and Corporate Operations. The Australian Sports Commission forms part of the Health portfolio.

This report

This report has been prepared in accordance with parliamentary reporting and legislative requirements and provides details of the Australian Sports Commission’s performance and operations for the financial year ending 30 June 2014. This report details how effective we have been at achieving our outcomes for the year as outlined in the 2013 14 Portfolio Budget Statements.

Ownership of intellectual property rights in this publication

Unless otherwise noted, copyright (and any other intellectual property rights, if any) in this publication is owned by the Australian Sports Commission.

Creative Commons licence

With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms and photographic images, this publication is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence is a standard form license agreement that allows you to copy, distribute, transmit and adapt this publication provided that you attribute the work.

A summary of the licence terms is available from

The full licence terms are available from

The Australian Sports Commission’s preference is that you attribute this publication (and any material sourced from it) using the following wording — Source: Licensed from the Australian Sports Commission under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence.

Produced by Australian Sports Commission Content and Online Engagement team.

For general enquiries:
Tel: (02) 6214 1111
Fax: (02) 6214 1836