Skip to content
Media Centre

Media Awards

The Sport Australia Media Awards recognise excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting and production. They focus on analytical and insightful reporting and the presentation of sport and sporting issues, with the ultimate aim of fostering improved coverage of key issues within sport.

The media awards are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia. There are multiple categories that enable different media to compete on relative merits. See below for information on the individual categories.

Entries for the 2022 Media Awards are expected to open in September 2022.

Key dates

Read about the 2021 finalists

  • 2021 Qualifying dates: 24 October 2020 until 18 October 2021
  • Winners announced: March 2022
  • 2022 Entries open: September 2022


Lifetime achievement award for sports journalism

This award is for exceptional service to sports journalism over an extended period. The award is given by the Australian Sports Commission Board and is presented to an individual who has made a lengthy, significant and influential contribution to the reporting of Australian sport.

The 2021 Sport Australia Media Awards were announced in Sydney on 2 March, 2022 where Australian Rules Football print, radio and television journalist Mike Sheahan accepted the honour.

Read the full media release
See more information on the 2021 Sport Australia Media Awards winners and finalists

Award categories


A panel comprising representatives from the media, sport and Sport Australia will judge the entries.

With the exception of the Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism, a minimum four finalists will be selected in each category. The winners will be announced in March 2022, and published on the Sport Australia website. The lifetime achievement award winner is chosen by the Australian Sports Commission board.

Judges will make their decisions based solely on the material provided by entrants. Entrants should not expect feedback from the judging panel about their entry.

Many factors are taken into account, such as (in no specific order):

  • use of medium
  • news value
  • research
  • writing and/or editing
  • technical excellence
  • incisiveness
  • impact
  • public benefit
  • ethics
  • originality
  • creative flair.
Return to top