Skip to content

Entries open for ASC Media Awards

25 September 2023

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is once again calling on Australian sports media, sporting clubs and organisations to submit their best work as entries open for the ASC Media Awards.

Winners with trophies at the ASC Media Awards for 2022
Winners from the ASC Media Awards for 2022, presented at the MCG on 15 March, 2023.

The Media Awards recognise excellence in Australian sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography and are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia.

Media can enter at from today until Wednesday 1 November 2023.

ASC CEO Kieren Perkins OAM says the awards recognise the important role media play in telling the stories that connect us to sport.

“We received a record number of entries last year across the 12 categories and welcomed award-winning journalist and ABC presenter Tracey Holmes as the latest recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award,” he said.

“Headlined by the FIFA Women’s World Cup which saw the Matildas reach new fans and bring communities across Australia together, there are plenty of great sporting stories that have been told in the last 12 months.”

He also encouraged rural and regional media and sporting clubs and organisations to enter, with dedicated awards recognising the important contribution regional media play in highlighting issues affecting community sport, and how clubs and organisations engage with new audiences and members.

ASC Chair Josephine Sukkar AM said media did a wonderful job telling the unique, influential and inspiring stories of sport.

“As we enter our 22nd edition of the Media Awards I am continually impressed at the world-class coverage and wonderful talent within the Australian sports media industry,” she said.

“Ensuring that everyone can see a place for themselves in sport is the key focus for the ASC and these awards recognise the role the media play in celebrating Australian sport.”

Finalists in the Media Awards will be announced in December and invited to a gala dinner in
Melbourne in February.

All entries for this year’s awards must have been published during the qualifying period,
from 24 October 2022 to 31 October 2023.

Award categories

Award categories available for nomination are:

  • Best reporting of an issue in sport
  • Best sport profile - broadcast
  • Best sport coverage by an individual - broadcast
  • Best coverage of sport by a club or organisation
  • Best sport coverage by an individual - written
  • Best coverage of sport for people with disability
  • Best sport podcast
  • Best depiction of inclusive sport
  • Best coverage of a sporting event
  • Best coverage of a community sport issue - rural & regional media
  • Best sport profile - written
  • Best sports photography

More information on the awards is available via the Media Awards page. You can also see the previous winners lists.

Return to top