Skip to content

Award Entries Open – seeking Australia’s best sports media

12 September 2022

Entries for the Australian Sports Commission (ASC) Media Awards have opened with media from across the country encouraged to submit their best work after another big year.

Winners from the 2021 Media Awards gathered with their trophies
Winners for the 2021 Media Awards at the presentation dinner in Sydney in early 2022.

Now in its 21st year, the Media Awards recognise excellence in Australian sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography.

Media can enter at from today until Monday 31 October 2022.

ASC CEO Kieren Perkins OAM said he’s looking forward to the event which will return to its original name.

"As an organisation, we are united as one to support and provide opportunities for everyone involved in sport and it’s a great time to recognise the key role media plays in sport as we look ahead to the Green and Gold decade.”

New categories included for podcasts, clubs

There are 12 categories available to enter with new awards added that recognise podcasts, sporting clubs and organisations.

The addition of a podcast category follows a boom in the genre while the ‘Best coverage of sport by a club or organisation’ award recognises the central role that professional and non-professional organisations of all sizes play in engaging with members and fans through their own media channels.

ASC Chair Josephine Sukkar AM said the awards acknowledge the important role media play in telling sport’s stories and inspiring Australians to get active.

“Our athletes and sports have continued to shine on the world stage in the past 12 months with the Beijing Winter Olympics and Paralympics and Birmingham Commonwealth Games highlights on the sporting calendar.”

“Equally as important, has been the return of grassroots sporting competitions which mean so much to local communities and the media do a wonderful job telling these unique, influential and inspiring stories.”

The Media Awards will again honour a new Lifetime Achievement recipient - last year awarded to legendary AFL journalist Mike Sheahan.

Finalists in the Media Awards will be announced in December and invited to a gala dinner in Melbourne on Thursday 16 February 2023.

All entries for this year’s awards must have been published during the qualifying period, from 12 October 2021 to 31 October 2022.

Award categories available for nomination are: 

  • Best reporting of an issue in sport
  • Best sport profile - broadcast
  • Best sport coverage by an individual - broadcast
  • Best coverage of sport by a club or organisation
  • Best sport coverage by an individual - written
  • Best coverage of sport for people with disability
  • Best sport podcast
  • Best depiction of inclusive sport
  • Best coverage of a sporting event
  • Best coverage of a community sport issue - rural & regional media
  • Best sport profile - written
  • Best sports photography

More information on the awards is available here. You can also see the previous winners lists.

Mike Sheahan standing behind a lecturn
AFL journalist Mike Sheahan accepts the Media Awards Lifetime Achievement Award in Sydney in March, 2022.
Return to top