Skip to content
Media Centre

Media Awards

Nominations for the 2023 Media Awards have closed.

The Australian Sports Commission Media Awards recognise excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting and production. They focus on analytical and insightful reporting and the presentation of sport and sporting issues, with the ultimate aim of fostering improved coverage of key issues within sport.

The media awards are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia. There are multiple categories that enable different media to compete on relative merits.

Finalists in the Media Awards for 2023 were announced in December and winners will be named at a gala dinner at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 21 February 2024.

See below for information on the individual categories.

Key dates

Entries open: 25 September 2023 until 1 November 2023
Qualifying dates: 24 October 2022 until 31 October 2023
Finalists announced: December 2023
Winners announced: 21 February 2024


Award categories

Lifetime achievement award for sports journalism

This award is for exceptional service to sports journalism over an extended period. The award is given by the Australian Sports Commission Board and is presented to an individual who has made a lengthy, significant and influential contribution to the reporting of Australian sport.

The 2022 ASC Media Awards were announced in Melbourne on 15 March, 2023 where Award-winning journalist and ABC presenter Tracey Holmes accepted the honour.

Read the full media release
See more information on the ASC Media Awards winners and finalists for 2022.


A panel comprising representatives from the media, sport and the Australian Sports Commission will judge the entries.

With the exception of the Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism, a minimum four finalists will be selected in each category. The winners will be announced in February 2024, and published on the Australian Sports Commission website. The lifetime achievement award winner is chosen by the Australian Sports Commission board.

Judges will make their decisions based solely on the material provided by entrants. Entrants should not expect feedback from the judging panel about their entry.

Terms and conditions of entry are available on the ASC website. Each category has different requirements, as listed within each category description.

Many factors are taken into account, such as (in no specific order):

  • use of medium
  • news value
  • research
  • writing and/or editing
  • technical excellence
  • incisiveness
  • impact
  • public benefit
  • ethics
  • originality
  • creative flair.
Return to top