Skip to content

Finalists announced for ASC Media Awards

12 December 2022

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s Media Awards.

The Media Awards have been running for more than 20 years and recognise excellence in Australian sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography. They are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia.

The finalists represent an array of outlets with the majority of finalists coming from News Corp, Nine newspapers, the Seven Network, ABC, The Guardian, Fox Sports and SBS. A number of emerging outlets are also represented as finalists.

Emma Kemp (The Guardian), ABC pair Tracey Holmes and Amanda Shalala and News Corp veteran Julian Linden have all been named as finalists in two separate categories for their work across the nomination period.

Two new categories were added this year with sporting clubs and organisations recognised for the role they play in producing their own content as well as the growing podcast genre being given its own category.

ASC CEO Kieren Perkins OAM said it was great to see strong interest from a range of media organisations.

“We received a record number of entries across the 12 categories which reflects how highly regarded the ASC Media Awards are in the industry.”

“From covering international sporting events to investigating local sporting issues affecting regional and remote Australia, the media continues to play an important role in telling the stories that connect us to sport.

“The diversity of coverage across gender, race and ability is pleasing to see as it continues to be a key focus for the ASC and the sport sector more broadly as part of the Green and Gold decade we’re embarking on.”

Finalists will be invited to an awards presentation in March 2023. The ASC will also announce a new recipient of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement award – last year awarded to legendary AFL journalist Mike Sheahan.

ASC Media Awards finalists for 2022

Best reporting of an issue in sport

  • Matt Logue, News Corp ‘The Liz Cambage Australian Opals investigation’
  • Linda Pearce, CODE Sports ‘Investigation: Abuse in gymnastics’
  • Tracey Holmes, ABC ‘Australian sport and the legacy of Lang Hancock’
  • Julian Linden, News Corp ‘Swimming takes the plunge’

Best sport profile – written

  • News Corp, ‘Shane Warne – Genius. Ratbag. Goat. A tribute to a legend’
  • Emma Kemp and Carly Earl, The Guardian ‘The Medal Maker’
  • Jeremy Story Carter, ABC ‘Death of a footy club’
  • Andrew Jackson, Fox Sports ‘The making of Josh Giddey’
  • Iain Payten, Sydney Morning Herald ‘Deek’s miracle of Brisbane’

Best sport profile – broadcast 

  • RIDE, WildBear Entertainment / ABC
  • Sidelined – the fight for equality in women’s basketball, Undefeater Films / Fox Sports / SBS
  • Shayna Jack battles back, Sam Squiers, LiSTNR
  • Fearless – the inside story of the AFLW, JamTV / Disney+
  • Giddey and Gaze, ESPN

Best sport coverage by an individual – broadcast

  • Gerard Whateley, SEN / Fox Footy
  • Alister Nicholson, Seven Network
  • Neroli Meadows, ESPN / Ordineroli Speaking
  • Matty Johns, Fox Sports

Best sport podcast

  • The Ticket, Tracey Holmes, ABC
  • Howie Games, Mark Howard, LiSTNR
  • Colours of Cricket, SBS
  • Head Noise, The Australian

Best sport coverage by an individual – written 

  • Emma Kemp, The Guardian
  • Amanda Shalala, ABC
  • Peter Badel, News Corp
  • Julian Linden, News Corp

Best depiction of inclusive sport 

  • Jamie van Leeuwen and Joey Lynch, ESPN ‘Journey of the Afghanistan Women's Team’
  • Johnny Taranto, SBS ‘I’m Not a Runner’
  • Ben Dorries, News Corp ‘Becoming Tyler’
  • Konrad Marshall, Good Weekend ‘Black Cowboys’

Best coverage of community sport issue – rural & regional media 

  • Steve Tervet, Border Mail ‘Behind the scenes’
  • Zoe Keenan and Dinushi Dias, ABC South West WA ‘Racism and sexism in country football’
  • Nicholas Wright, Townsville Bulletin ‘Fight from within’
  • Chad Van Estrop, Geelong Advertiser ‘Setting new boundaries to stamp out abuse’

Best coverage of sport for people with disability 

  • Matthew Carmichael, Seven Network
  • Amanda Shalala, ABC
  • Kieran Pender, The Guardian
  • Tilly Werner, CODE Sports

Best coverage of sport by a club or organisation 

  • Parramatta Eels
  • Bowls Australia
  • Snow Australia

Best coverage of a sporting event 

  • Seven Network, Birmingham Commonwealth Games
  • News Corp, Birmingham Commonwealth Games
  • Fox Sports, The Ashes
  • SBS, Tour de France (Femmes and Hommes)
  • Seven Network, Beijing Winter Olympic Games

Best sports photography 

  • Quinn Rooney, Getty Images ‘Diving for gold’
  • Michael Willson, AFL Photos ‘Buddy beauty’
  • Mark Kolbe, Getty Images ‘Tszyu Strong’
  • David Gray, AAP Photos ‘Leap of faith’
Media awards trophies lined up on a table
The ASC Media Awards have been running for more than 20 years and recognise excellence in Australian sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography.
Return to top