Skip to content
Sports

Rugby League

Schools Login Sports Login

NRL offers Sporting Schools participants the NRL Sporting Schools program for primary schools and the NRL LIFT for secondary schools.

NRL programs are aligned to the Health & Physical Education Australian Curriculum and include an assessment checklist linked to the movement and physical activity content descriptions. These tools are designed to help teachers assess student learning throughout the units and maintain records for student reporting.

As a PE Teacher working in a rural school, it is great to have something like Rugby League visit to allow our kids the chance to learn some new skills from a sport they are interested in. Both the students and I had a great time and it was fantastic to see so many students having a go.”

J. Randall, PE Teacher, Queenstown Tasmania

NRL Primary schools program

The Foundation - Year 2 program uses story based learning to assist young students to grasp the skills and concepts of rugby league. Lessons have been designed alongside a story that builds on students' fundamental movement skills where they learn through active play and minor games in a fun and safe environment.

The Year 3 - Year 6 program, developed in partnership with Dr Greg Forrest from the University of Wollongong, is underpinned by an innovative games and sports teaching approach. Research suggests there is strong evidence that the program improves game play understanding and is closely linked to higher levels of motivation, increased participation and more positive attitudes towards playing games and sports.

NRL League Integrated Fundamentals Training (LIFT)

The NRL League Integrated Fundamentals Training (LIFT) program provides opportunities for our year 7 and 8 students to participate in highly engaging physical movement activites that promote an introductory understanding of physical literacy. The program focuses on educating Australian teenagers about the importance of physical literacy for lifelong movement.

Equipment

All students involved in an NRL program will receive a Steeden football (via redemtion).

Schools also have the option to order an NRL School Equipment Pack (packs for Primary and Secondary detailed below). The pack includes a set of activity cards to help deliver a five session unit as part of your Health & Physical Education or sport programs.

NRL Primary School Equipment Pack

  • NRL activity cards
  • 20 x coloured bibs (mesh)
  • 1 x heavy duty ball bag
  • 10 x Steeden NRL football size 4
  • 1 x whistle
  • 20 x markers

NRL LIFT Equipment Pack

  • Link to NRL LIFT activity cards
  • 40 x markers (4 colours)
  • 16 x coloured bibs
  • 7 x Steeden NRL football size 5
  • 12 x high bounce balls (2 colours)
  • 2 x agility poles 2 piece (4 pack red)
  • 2 x Training hurdles mixed pack
  • 2 x speed ladders
  • 1 x whistle
  • 1 x hand pump
  • 1 x League Tag Kit
  • 1 x heavy duty ball bag
Teachers

Teachers can deliver NRL Sporting Schools program by meeting the requirements below.

  • Hold a valid state and/or territory teacher registration
  • Confirm adequacy of insurance
  • A coaching qualification may be necessary in some regions
  • Contact your local NRL Game Development Officer or Sporting Schools Coordinator, Jodie Gatehouse – jgatehouse@nrl.com.au
Coaches

To become a coach and deliver rugby league in Sporting Schools please ensure you are working towards the following requirements:

  • Be aged 16 years or over
  • Hold a current Working With Children Check for relevant State
  • Confirm adequacy of insurance
  • NRL Coaching Qualification (relevant to age group) and
  • Approval from your local NRL Game Development Officer and Regional Manager.

NRL coordinates all Sporting Schools programs and do not require external coaching providers (unless deemed necessary for the region). For further information please contact NRL.

Coaching Providers

Sporting Schools is an Australia-wide program in partnership with over 33 national sporting organisations (NSO), of which the NRL is one.

NRL coordinates all Sporting Schools programs and do not require external coaching providers (unless deemed necessary for the region) . For further information please contact NRL.

NRL Resources

Primary School Resource

This resource will provide teachers with a series of exciting of activities that introduce students to the game of Rugby League in a safe, non-competitive and fun environment.

All activities are developed according to an age-appropriate learning approach that is specifically designed to meet the need of the Foundation - Year 2, Year 3 - Year 4 and Year 5 - Year 6 phases of learning.

Additionally, the resource provides detailed unit plans that outline Australian Curriculum Links, Achievement Standards, Focus Areas and Curriculum Content Descriptions for each activity.

Download PlayNRL In-School Program resource

LIFT (Secondary School) Resource

This resource will provide Secondary School teachers with the physical literacy activities developed specially for this program.

Contact

NSW/ACT 

Sydney South / East
Contact: Adam Hellyer
Email: ahellyer@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 411 159 277

Sydney North
Contact: Daniel Hutton
Email: dhutton@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 400 915 451

Sydney - Penrith
Contact: Tim Auremi
Email: tauremi@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 417 415 508

Sydney – Canterbury / Campbelltown
Contact: Kurt Mangan
Email: kmangan@nrl.com.au
Phone: 0412 457 082

Sydney – Parramatta
Contact: Ross Antoniolli
Email: rantoniolli@nrl.com.au
Phone: 0487 772 263

South West / Western NSW / ACT
Contact: Adam Perry
Email: aperry@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 429 455 490

Central Coast, Hunter & North West
Contact: Dean Bosnich
Email: dbosnich@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 427 165 910

Northern
Contact: Wayde Kelly
Email: wkelly@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 449 574 324

Southern
Contact: Matthew O'Brien
Email: mobrien@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 427 165 910

 
NT 
Northern Territory
Contact: Jarrod Bailey
Email: jbailey@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 417 234 796
 
QLD 

South East
Contact: Sarah Walker
Email: swalker@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 411 159 463

Central
Contact: Richard Dugdale
Email: rdugdale@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 409 069 437

Northern
Contact: Renae Kunst
Email: rkunst@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 417 068 132

 
SA 
South Australia
Contact: Dave Cohen
Email: dcohen@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 411 159 465
 
TAS 
Tasmania
Contact: Brent Silva
Email: bsilva@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 467 556 770
 
VIC 
Victoria
Contact: Ben Jack
Email: bjack@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 408 069 172
 
WA 
Western Australia
Contact: Gus Marshall
Email: gmarshall@nrl.com.au
Phone: +61 419 263 716

Have any questions about Sporting Schools?

Phone: 1300 785 707
Return to top